Vision blue3 Vinten tripod review

Working in the Entertainment world of the media industry it’s always important for me to be able to get access to the equipment I use quickly and efficiently. The new Vision blue3 tripod from Vinten, has done just that. With its ease of use, flexible positioning and the amazing balance and drag control, I was very impressed with this new edition to the Vision blue series.

Once I received it, I had the tripod up and running in around 28 seconds (yes I timed it!) and the camera was attached ready to capture all the tension and drama of people emailing and walking around the office within a minute (what can I say, it’s a quiet week).

Seriously though, it’s reassuring to know though that if I am filming a sit down interview in a limited time, that I am confident the equipment I use will not only work correctly but be easy and simple to assemble. There’s nothing more embarrassing than when you’re trying to prop up one side of the tripod with your shoulder whilst adjusting the length of a leg and the tripod head slackens from poor manufacture and the camera wilts to one side. During this time, the talent is sat watching the live theatre comedy act before them.

The tripod head is so silky and amazing to use; it glides smoothly both for a tilt and a pan. As ever there’s the ability to adjust the resistance and a helpful balance bubble so you’re shots don’t turn out unintentionally Dutch. I couldn’t seem to find the button to illuminate the bubble, which is apparently available, and a function that we all know is only missed when not present. No one likes the task of holding a mobile phone in their mouth, trying to emit a light good enough to balance the bubble whilst two hands are already occupied.

When I took the tripod out for some ‘off road’ testing with a DSLR, it was great to know the legs could be individually adjusted, especially for those perfect wildlife shots when you might need the equipment to be stationary and static for an unlimited time. The pozi-loc clamps also contributed to the ease of use, allowing instant height alteration without fumbling with sticky screw adjustment clips.

One thing for those of you who buy the Vinten blue3 new, be aware that the rubber holders that keep the spreader attached to the legs are very stiff and need a lot of encouragement to be released.

The only other feature that I found required some muscular contribution was the bag the tripod came in weighed a considerable amount. Noteworthy for if you are travelling abroad or walking a distance… and no, this is not just because I am a woman! I did ask others to test out the weight and they agreed that for a tripod such as the Vinten bue3, you might need to invest in a more lightweight protective bag.

Overall I am yet again very impressed to this new edition to the Vinten family. The minor features I found couldn’t ever overshadow its professional and proficient manufacture. I can’t wait to see what other delights Vinten has in store for the future of filmmaking.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are that of my own and not my employer.

Leave a comment